Junior chess league – Starting on the 16th of October..


September Blitz results

There was a good showing at the September blitz, held on Thursday 1 September: a healthy mix of regulars, old friends who we hadn’t seen for a year or more, and newcomers who we hope will soon become regulars. Despite that, the first two places were occupied by the same players as last month, which perhaps shows the importance of practice: first was Pete Morriss on 6/7 and second Jason Rawlinson on 5/7. The grading prize was won by Sridhar Ghopal who scored an excellent 4½/7, and had a particularly strong finish against high-rated players.

September blitz this Thursday (1 September)

The club’s September blitz tournament will be this Thursday (1 September), at its usual time of 7.30 (or shortly after) in the Bridge Centre (upstairs), St Mary’s Road. There is an entry fee of €5, for which we supply the room, sets, clocks and (hopefully) opponents. You don’t have to be a member of Galway Chess Club to play, and newcomers are always welcome.

Junior Chess is back.

The Galway Junior Chess Club will start back on Wednesday September 14th .. in the Galway Tennis club in Salthill, see  www.galwayjuniorchess.com for full club calendar and more.  If you’ve any questions emails to  brendan@chessossity.com .

Also, ..  The 1st junior tournament of this year is on close by in Ennis on the 18th & 19th Sept. .. it’s the Munster Juniors and full details with how to enter etc. are on ..  www.icu.ie/events/748

August blitz results

The August blitz tournament, held on Thursday 4 August, was won by Pete Morriss with 5½ points out of 6. Second was Jason Rawlinson, with 5 points. Since there were a considerable number of new participants (which we very much welcome), the grading prize was replaced by a “best newcomer’s prize”, which was won by Tony Creavin, who scored a very commendable 3½.

Our next blitz tournament will be on Thursday 1 September.

August Blitz

The club’s August blitz tournament will be this Thursday (4 August) in the Bridge Centre, St Mary’s Rd., starting shortly after 7.30. There will be a €5 entry fee, which will go toward renting the venue (and sets and clocks) and prizes. Newcomers are particularly welcome.

Glorney & Robinson Cups retained by Ireland .. 2016

Great news from England ..   Ireland are the 2016 Glorney Champions.  But at a more local level .. Galway boy Denis Ruchko was a key member of the (u-14) Irish team.


Above Denis with his team mates .. winners of the Robinson Cup (U-14’s).  Denis won the last game to capture 1st place for Ireland.  Interestingly, after the game when everyone was looking to celebrate Denis asked FM David Fitz to review his game ..  David was quite impressed as are we.    Below his dad, Maksym, with the other parents ..


The parent team , “a great bunch of lads”.

Denis Now Playing for Ireland

Galway’s Denis Ruchko has joined the prestigious list of Galway club members who have represented Ireland, by being selected for the Irish under-14 team that is playing against England, France, Scotland and Wales in the Robinson Cup, which started today. Only some of his games will be available live, but one can see the most recent one (and any more that the organisers chose to relay) here; there is a different link for the results, from which we can see that Denis has won his first two games. Well done Denis!

Also, one of the trainers for the Irish squad is Brendan Buckley, who runs junior chess in Galway as well as training the Irish juniors.

We wish the Irish squad, and particularly Denis and Brendan, all success.

Update: Denis scored an outstanding four wins and a draw from his five games, thereby helping Ireland to outright victory in the under-14 event. Ireland also retained the Glorney Cup (the under-18 trophy).

July Blitz results

The inaugural summer blitz held on 7 July took a slightly different form than usual; in recognition of the long evenings, we decided to play a full ten rounds – five double rounds with both black and white against each opponent – instead of our normal seven. The winner, by a long way, was Brendan Buckley with a remarkable 9½ points out of 10. Second was Denis Ruchko (who was also the only player to take a half point off Brendan) with 6½; this was also an excellent performance as Denis came above three much higher-rated players.

Our next blitz is on Thursday 4 August. We will decide how many rounds to play on the night.

Summer Blitz on Thursday 7 July

Our inaugural Summer Blitz takes place on Thursday 7 July, in the Bridge Centre, starting at 7.30. This will be almost the same as our monthly winter blitzes, except for taking place in the summer. The one change is that there will be an entry fee of €5 (for members and non-members alike) to pay for the hire of the room; if there is a surplus then there will be PRIZES. For anybody who hasn’t been before, we supply all the equipment, so all you have to bring is yourself. Players of all levels are welcome. There will be seven rounds, each player gets 5 minutes for the game, plus an increment of 5 seconds per move. Hope to see you there

  • Upcoming Events

    October Blitz:
      7:30pm Thursday, October 6th
    Bridge Centre, St. Mary's Road, Galway.
    Beginner's Evening:
      7:30pm Thursday, October 13th
    Bridge Centre, St. Mary's Road, Galway.
    Winter League, Round One:
      7:30pm Thursday, November 3rd
    Bridge Centre, St. Mary's Road, Galway.
    Casual meetings, No events scheduled:
      7:30pm Thursday, October 20th
      7:30pm Thursday, October 27th