January Blitz Results

The January blitz was held on 24 January, and was a hard-fought contest.  The winner was Joona Kiiski, who pulled clear in the last round, finishing with 5½ points out of 7.  No fewer than three players tied for second on 4½: Felix Calleja, Brendan Buckley, and Conall Hegarty.  Conall’s performance was particularly meritorious, as […]

Thursdays Blitz Results (3rd May 2012)

The April blitz was won by WIM Hoang Xuan Thanh Khiet, with 4.5/5. Fair dues to Paul Ward for being the only player to draw with Kheit. Second was Pete Morriss with 3.5/5. This Thursday is the club AGM.

April/May Blitz Tournament

In the Bridge Club next Thursday, 3 May: Our monthly blitz event has been somewhat delayed, because of our concentration on team matches. The usual rules apply: a six round Swiss, with 10 minutes each per player per game.  It starts at 8 (prompt); late-comers can be admitted into round 2 (or 3), though you […]

Club Activity, Thurs, 12 April

This will be a social evening: friendly games with other club members. Also, by popular request, some members will show us a game or two which they have played recently – which we hope will be instructive and interesting for all. If you have a game that you would like to show us (and receive […]

March Blitz: Happening this Thursday (29 Mar)

As usual, this will start at 8pm at the Bridge Centre, and be a Swiss or all-play-all, depending on how many people turn up. Games are ten minutes per player per game.

Galway Winter League 2011/12 – Final Round!

The final round draw is below, which will be due to be played on Thursday 22nd March. There is one final game being played tomorrow but the draw below will not change due to that result: 1 baird, d (6) : morriss, p (2) 2 abberton, e (8) : calleja, f (7) 3 , joona (16) […]

  • Galway Winter League, Round 1.

    Z. Nemeth G. Abberton
    Z. Dragic P. Morriss
    J. Rawlinson I. Finnerty
    D. Piercy K. O’Mahoney
    K. Asyraf J. Blackwell
    B. Delee A. Koslovs
    P. Ward I. Danial
    A. Zariq A. Barber
    K. Ryder BYE

  • Upcoming Events

    (All 7.30pm starts in the Bridge Club unless otherwise specified)

    Tuesday 23rd: Casual Meeting in Massimo from 8pm
    Thursday 25th: October Blitz
    Thursday 1st November: Rapid League – Rounds 2,3,4
    Thursday 8th November: Winter League – Round 2
    Thursday 29th November: RL – Rounds 5,6,7
    Thursday 6th December: WL – Round 3
    Thursday 20th December: Christmas Blitz and Close
    Thursday 10th January: WL – Round 4 and Reopening
    Thursday 7th February: WL – Round 5
    Thursday 7th March: WL – Round 6
    Fri 22nd-Sun 24th March – Galway Congress
    Thursday 4th April: WL – Round 7

  • Recent Comments

  • Site Categories