Alex Baburin wins Galway Congress for fourth time

The prestigious Galway Congress was won by Irish number one Grand Master Alex Baburin; he came equal first with International Master Vladimir Sveshnikov (who came all the way from Latvia for this event) but Baburin won the trophy with a better tie-break score.  A full list of prize winners is below.  The complete results for all players can be found here: Masters Majors Minors.

The tournament was a big success, with numbers significantly up on last year, and the venue of the Menlo Park Hotel proved very popular with the players.

The new Connaught Champion – the highest placed player who is living in or was born in Connaught – is Philip Short.  Local prize winners include Conall Hegarty, of NUI Galway, who was first equal in the Majors section, and Galway Chess Club members Paul Ward, Anton Kalinichenko and Carlos Silva, who all won grading prizes.  Also worth highlighting was the outstanding performance by Mihailo Manojlovic, who won the Minors tournament (under-1200) with a faultless score of 6/6, whilst his sister Anastasija came outright second on 5½.


Prize winners were as follows.

Masters Section.  First equal: Alex Baburin and Vladimir Sveshnikov (Alex Baburin is Champion on tie-break); Third equal: Valentine Kalinins and Mel Ó Cinnéide

Grading prizes: (2000-2200): Conor O’Donell, David Murray, Gordon Freeman

(under 2000): First prize: Don Short; Second Prize: Ciaran Quinn, Stephen Short and Orison Carlile

Connaught Champion: Philip Short


Majors Section.  First equal: Conall Hegarty, Pat McMahon and Minugas Janusaitis

Grading prizes: (1350-1600): John McMahon and Paul Ward

(under 1350) First prize: Eoin Connolly; Second prize: Anton Kalininchenko

Prize for the highest placed woman (donated by Menlo Park Hotel): Gearóidín Uí Laighléis


Minors Section.  First: Mihailo Manojlovic; Second: Anastasija Manojlovic; Third equal Arran Bolger and Stephen Li

Grading prizes: (901-1000): Joseph Carthy, Alex Start, Alice O’Gorman

(701-900): Robbie Kildea

(700 or less): First Prize: Henry Start; Second Prize: Alex Byrne and Jonathon Peoples

(Unrated): Theo Bowyer, Eamonn Richardson and Carlos Silva



  1. Martin O'Grady says:

    Thanks Pete and your team for a well organized tournament. Great venue and liked that all games played in one room. Plenty of space for everyone.
    Very impressed with one of your team, when asked by David Fitzsimons about how many moves played since a capture in a tough R+N v R ending vs Vladimir Sveshnikov, called out ’42’ without hesitation. Very classy!
    Martin OG

  2. Gabor Horvath says:

    Hi Pete,

    Thanks for the tournament, it was really well organised, everything was running very smoothly. The new hotel was a good choice, we had very nice playing conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte