Announcing Galway Chess Congress 2015

The 2015 Galway Chess Congress will take place in the Menlo Park Hotel, from Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th October.  Please mark in your diary.

In response to feedback last year, we are thinking of changing the format by adopting an exciting new structure for the event.  The basic idea is that the sections will be “porous” rather than rigid, so that players who win can automatically float up, to play people from the section above theirs.  A full explanation of how this would work can be found at the “Galway Congress 2015” link above.  We very much welcome feedback on this idea, as well as proposals for improving it or pointing out drawbacks which we haven’t considered.  Please either post your responses to the Galway Congress 2015 page, or send them privately to our email address: galwaychess at gmail dot com [please reassemble].

Looking forward to seeing you all at the Congress in October.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte