Blitz Tournament Review 2017

We held eleven monthly blitz tournaments in 2017 – there wasn’t one in May, as there was the Rapidplay tournament instead. In all, 42 different people played in at least one tournament; just two played in all eleven. There were eight different winners of the tournament (including ties); repeat winners were Brendan Buckley and Jason Rawlinson (both three times) and Pete Morriss (twice). There were nine different winners of the grading prize; the only repeat winner was Kynesha Ryder, who won three times. The person who scored the most points overall during the year was Pete Morriss, largely because he played in all eleven tournaments.

JanuaryPete MorrissCarlos SilvaK. S. Gopal
FebruaryPete MorrissDenis RuchkoKynesha Ryder
MarchFintan HegartyDenis Ruchko
Kynesha Ryder
AprilDenis RuchkoPete MorrissBilly Delee
JuneJ. Rawlinson, B. BuckleyPranav Phatak
JulyJason RawlinsonB. Buckley, F. HegartyZoran Dragic
AugustB. Buckley, David McCannMaksym Ruchko
SeptemberJason RawlinsonA. Jimenez, Z. Nemeth, P. MorrissJames Blackwell
OctoberBrendan BuckleyPete MorrissKynesha Ryder
NovemberAlex DrimbareanPete MorrissAndrejs Kozlovs
DecemberConall HegartyPete MorrissGer Abberton

Players who scored more than ten points during the year were:

Points scoredTournaments playedAverage
Pete Morriss56115.1
Jason Rawlinson46104.6
Denis Ruchko43½94.8
Kynesha Ryder38½113.5
Fintan Hegarty3794.1
Brendan Buckley3065
Conall Hegarty2154.2
Zalan Nemeth17½44.4
Ian Finnerty1782.1
Ger Abberton14½43.6
Carlos Silva13½34.5
Andrejs Kozlovs13½43.4
Maksym Ruchko13½62.25
Alex Drimbarean1226
Andrew Barber1243
Paul Ward1243
James Blackwell1133.7
Andrew Finnerty10½42.6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte