Carlos wins Winter League


In an exciting and tense play-off Carlos da Silva eventually clinched his first Winter League title at about 11.30 at night, beating top-seed Pete Morriss 2½ – 1½. The format was two games at 25 minutes + 15 seconds increment; if these did not produce a winner, then two games at 15 minutes + 10 seconds, followed, if necessary, by pairs of games at ever faster time rates. The first three games were all decisive, and strangely the player with the black pieces won them all. In the fourth game, Pete, as black, eventually got down to a rook v pawn endgame. Subsequent checking with tablebases suggests that there was one (and only one) way for black to win, but Pete did not find it and the game ended in a draw. So Carlos is our new champion, and a very worthy one.


Final Standings:

Carlos da Silva1597
Pete Morriss1885
Jason Rawlinson51535
Conall Hegarty51660
Dara Murphy1773
Henryk Raczkowiak41658
Paul Ward41473
Denis Ruchko41083
Eduardo Gandara Diaz41843
Fintan Hegarty1312
Michael O'Connell1236
Andrew Barber31378
David Baird31504
Billy Delee3
David Piercy941
Colm O Riordain2
John Hensey1263
Michiel Jacobs1½ withdrawn1785
Pablo Donadio½ withdrawn1867
Sid Hegde0 withdrawn
Hassan Mahmood0 withdrawn


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte