Club members playing for Ireland this week

Once again, two of the five players in the Irish under-18 team, which is playing for the Glorney Cup in Scotland next week, against teams from England, Scotland, and Wales, are from Galway: the two are Oissine Murphy and John Cormican.  The event runs from Monday 4 August to Wednesday 6 August, and you can follow Oissine’s and John’s games (as well as the rest of the team) here. We will, of course, be rooting for them.

Update (day 1): Oissine and John are, in fact, playing on boards one and two for Ireland, which is a rare honour for Galway club (or, indeed, any club).  On the first day Oissine had two fine wins (against England and Wales), whilst John’s tactics seemed to go wrong against England, but worked a treat against Wales.  So that’s 3/4 for Galway vs England and Wales!

At the same time, the 2014 Olympiad starts in Norway on Saturday 2 August. Alas, there are no players from Galway there, but nevertheless one can follow the games on the Olympiad site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte