David Piercey and Eamonn win prizes in Bunratty; Galway results in full

Eamonn Abberton (in the Major section) and David Piercey (Minor) both won grading prizes in the Bunratty Chess tournament last weekend.  Congratulations to both of them!  Eamonn was playing for first place in the last round, but nobly allowed a young kid to get that title.  Other notable performances were by our young juniors Denis Ruchko and Eimear O’Tuathail.

Here are our results in full.  Unfortunately we had nobody in the top tournament (rated over 2000) but we were well represented in the other three sections, as follows.  Challengers (1600-1999): Pete Morriss (4½), Jonathon Melling (3½), Pat McMahon (2½), Jason Rawlinson (2), Carlos Silva (2), David Baird (1/5); Major (1200-1599): Eamonn Abberton (4½), Paul Ward (4), Andrew Barber (3½), Kevin Fitzpatrick (2½); Minor (under 1200): David Piercey (4½), Denis Ruchko (4), Ivica Suker (3½), Eimear O’Tuathail (1½/4).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte