December Blitz and Christmas break

The chess club will not be open on the two Thursdays over christmas and new year (December 24 and December 31), but before that there will be the final blitz tournament of the calendar year on December 17.  The normal format will apply: start time is 7.30 (or shortly after) and finishing time is likely to be 10.30 to 11; people can always arrive late or leave early if they have other things to do.  The time rate for a player for each game will be 5 minutes, plus 5 seconds per move.  We can provide all equipment necessary – and there may even be mince pies and other seasonal delights.  Looking forward to seeing lots of you there; new players are always welcome.

We will return on 7 January for the next round of the Rapid Tournament; again, new players are welcome to join this at any stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte