December Blitz on Thursday 18th

Our final meeting of the year, on Thursday 18 December, will be a Festive Blitz Tournament.  This will be a normal blitz tournament, as we can’t think how to improve it, with a few little seasonal extras to eat whilst you’re there.  As usual, this will be at our club room in the Bridge Centre (upstairs) starting as soon as possible after 7.30.  Latecomers are still welcome; if we’ve already started you will be included in the draw for the next round after you arrive.  The regular rate of play is 5 minutes for the game, plus an increment of 5 seconds per move.  We should have enough equipment, but if you have a clock that does increments it will do no harm to bring it along, just in case we are overwhelmed with players.

As always, we particularly welcome newcomers: feel free to try out the club before joining.

We regret that we will then not be meeting for the next two weeks as the Bridge Centre does not open over Christmas.  We’ll be back on 8 January for the next round of the Rapidplay tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte