December Blitz result

There was fairly small attendance at our final blitz tournament of the year; it seems that the temptation of mince pies and prizes did not outweigh a combination of the other attractions of the festive season and the unpleasantness of venturing outside in the cold, hail and floods.  Therefore the winner was Pete Morriss, on 6/7 (losing, as usual, to Carlos); second was Carlos Silva, 5/7 (losing to Fintan and Paul); and the grading prize went to Keith Whitfield on 4½.

We do hope that you all have a wonderful holiday, and look forward to seeing all the old members and several new ones in the new year.  Please note that we return after our short break on 16 January.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte