Ennis Chess Congress 2012

In May the annual Ennis Chess Congress is happening as usual in the Auburn Lodge.

The Ennis Congress is, from my experience, the most chilled out tournament of the year. By the time this tournament comes around the pattern to your season is well defined. It’s too late to change your fortunes. It’s time to eschew your boring-but-reliable lines you’ve been frustrating opponents to death with all year (c3 Scillian and Colle players take a bow)  and uncork those fanciful lines Morozevich et al. have been playing. Or maybe find out first hand why the Budapest is rubbish and have a laugh about it later with your opponent 😉

Of course there’s always the craic to be had in the company of the Ennis lads. And in the last few years there has been a GM or two floating around.

Here’s the info:

Venue : Auburn Lodge Hotel, Galway Road, Ennis

Dates : 18th – 20th May

2 Sections :

  • Under 1400
  • Open

6 round event with the 1st Round starting on Friday @ 8 pm

Prize Fund €1600 ( Depending on entries )

Entry Fee : Adults €35 / Juniors €25

 All players to be members of ICU

Accommodation : Contact Auburn Lodge Hotel   0656821247 ( Special Congress Rates )

Inquiries and Entries to:

John Cassidy  Tel: 0872495913 or 0656824642

email:  (put this back together) ennischessclub at hotmail dot com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Galway Congress 2019: March 22nd-24th


    Player Rating
    GM Alexander Baburin 2433
    Anthony Fox 2027
    Peter Cafolla 1932
    Orison Carlile 1892
    Brendan Ruane 1885
    Denis Ruchko 1827
    Kevin O’Flaherty 1815


    Player Rating
    Conall Hegarty 1641
    Andrejs Kozlovs 1471
    Joe O’Hanlon 1398
    Andrew Barber 1382
    Arman Arshakyan 1239


    Player Rating
    Andrew Finnerty 1033
    Bill Delee 1027
    Ian Finnerty 1000
    Hayk Arshakyan 984
    Eamon Lenihan 825
    Lucy Bueckert 755
    David Cunningham 755
    Zoran Dragic 752
    Diana Bueckert 511
    Leah Cunningham

    Enter here!
    Free entry
    for players rated 2200 or over if entry received by February 22nd.
    Discount of €20
    for players rated 2000-2199 if entry received by February 22nd.
    Discount of €10
    for all players if entry received by March 10th.
    Enter now!

  • Upcoming Events

    (All 7.30pm starts in the Bridge Club unless otherwise specified)

    Tuesday 19th February: Friendly evening in Monroe’s Tavern from 8pm

    Thursday 21st Feb: Blitz

    Thursday 28th Feb: Rapid League

    Thursday 7th March: WL – Round 6

    Thursday 14th March: Free night

    Thursday 21st March: Rapid League

    Fri 22nd-Sun 24th March: Galway Congress

    Thursday 28th March: Blitz

    Thursday 4th April: WL – Final Round

    Thursday 11th April: Free evening

    Thursday 18th April: Closed for Easter

    Thursday 25th April: End of Season Blitz

  • Recent Comments

  • Site Categories