February Blitz Results

The latest of our monthly blitzes took place on Thursday 22 February. The star performer on the night was undoubtedly James Blackwell, who started as one of the lowest rated entrants, but finished third, with 4½ points out of seven, having played – and mostly beaten – all the strongest players in the tournament. Indeed, he was first equal with two rounds to go, but couldn’t quite maintain that position, and so had to be content with the grading prize. The overall prize was shared by two players on 6 points: Alex Drimbarean (who lost to James and won all his other games) and Pete Morriss (who lost to Alex).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Galway Winter League, Round 1.

    Z. Nemeth K. Asyraf
    J. Rawlinson P. Ward
    D. Murphy M. O’Donnell
    P. Morriss D. Piercy
    A. Kozlovs Z. Drogic
    A. Barber J. Blackwell
    I. Danial K. Ryder
    B. Delee G. Abberton
    A. Zariq I. Finnerty

  • Upcoming Events

    (All 7.30pm starts in the Bridge Club unless otherwise specified)

    Tuesday 23rd: Casual Meeting in Massimo from 8pm
    Thursday 25th: October Blitz
    Thursday 1st November: Rapid League – Rounds 2,3,4
    Thursday 8th November: Winter League – Round 2
    Thursday 29th November: RL – Rounds 5,6,7
    Thursday 6th December: WL – Round 3
    Thursday 20th December: Christmas Blitz and Close
    Thursday 10th January: WL – Round 4 and Reopening
    Thursday 7th February: WL – Round 5
    Thursday 7th March: WL – Round 6
    Fri 22nd-Sun 24th March – Galway Congress
    Thursday 4th April: WL – Round 7

  • Recent Comments

  • Site Categories