Galway players do well in Bunratty

A number of Galway players travelled down to play in the Bunratty Congress (Ireland’s largest and strongest weekend tournament) last weekend, and in general we put up a good account of ourselves.

In the top section (the Masters) Oissine Murphy scored 2½ points out of 6 – a very good result, since all Oissine’s opponents were rated a good bit higher than he was.  In this section, one of the stars of the show was Galway-based Phillip Short, who put in an excellent performance, winning the prize for best untitled Irish player, and beating Irish Number One, Alex Baburin; Phillip scored 3½ – which is particularly good when one considers that, of his six opponents, two were grandmasters and another two international masters.

In the second section (under-2000), three of our members scored 3 points: Paul Ward, Jason Rawlinson, and Pete Morriss (who got his three points from only four games; he didn’t play on the Sunday, in order to attend a funeral); David Baird got 2 points, starting with a fine win, but not quite managing to keep that up.  Paul Ward’s results are particularly meritorious, as he is actually rated below the supposed floor for the section: he gained 34 rating points from his efforts, which was the second highest gain in the section.

In the under-1600 section, there was a very fine performance from Kenneth Higgins, who came second equal on 5/6.  Ger Abberton finished on 3 points, and Kevin Fitzpatrick on 2.

Finally, in the under-1200s, David Piercey didn’t quite manage to repeat his exploits in the Galway Congress, finishing on 2½ points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte