Galway Rapidplay won by Yury Rochev

The Galway Rapidplay was won convincingly by Galway’s own Yury Rochev, with 8½ points out of 9; second was Philip Short, also of Galway, with 7; there was a tie for third place, on 6 points, between Brendan Buckley (Galway), Karol Marzec (Poland), and Diana Mirza (Limerick).  Grading prizes were won by Andrew Barber (Galway) and Evan Doyle (Castlebar).  Perhaps it’s worth pointing out that, despite Galway’s dominance in the prizes, less than half the entrants were from Galway.

For the full results of the event, and some pictures taken during play and the prize giving, see the Rapidplay 2013 link above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte