Gerardo wins April blitz (plus recap of results)

Our Winter League winner Gerardo Artola Pola showed that he is indeed a true champion by winning the April blitz with a perfect score of six wins out of six.  Second was Padraic O’Tuathail, with 5/6.  The grading prize was won by Andrew Barber, with 3 points.

To recap the winners for this year’s blitzes have been as follows:

September      Jonathan Melling, Jason Rawlinson, Brendan Buckley, Alex Drimbarean, and Pete Morriss (all first equal)

October           Brendan Buckley (second: Conall Hegarty and Pete Morriss)

November        Pete Morriss and Jason Rawlinson

December        Brendan Buckley (second: Alex Drimbarean)

January            Pete Morriss (second: Alex Drimbarean)

February           Brendan Buckley  (second: Alex Drimbarean)

March               Pete Morriss (second: Jason Rawlinson)

April                  Gerardo Artola Pola (second: Padraic O’Tuathail)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte