Good Galway results in Ennis Congress

A number of Galway Chess Club members travelled down to Ennis for the Ennis Congress, and some good results were achieved.  The best overall performance was Winter League holder Gerardo Artola Pola, who came outright fourth overall in the Open and won the grading prize, with 4½/6: an excellent result, particularly considering that he was rated only 21st out of the 40 entries.  The best individual performance was that of Carlos Silva, who drew with many-times Irish Champion Colm Daly – and from what I have heard Carlos had the better of the game.  (Unfortunately, a couple of rounds later Carlos came up against Gerardo, who proved a more difficult opponent for him.)  Carlos finished in 18th place, with 3/6, which was a very good result considering the calibre of his opponents.  Other Galway competitors were Jason Rawlinson, Paul Ward, and Kevin Fitzpatrick.  A complete cross-table can be found here.

In the under 1400 section there was only one Galway competitor: Denis Ruchko.  Denis scored 4/6, which put him eighth equal – which again was far ahead of his seeding.  He is rapidly moving up the ranking list of the top Irish juniors of his age.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte