Irish Championships: Some good Galway results

The Irish Championship, held in Limerick, has finished, being won by defending champion Colm Daly.  Philip Short followed up his second place in the Galway Rapidplay with second (equal) in the Irish: at one point it looked as if he would go one better this time, as he beat the leader in the penultimate round; but he could make no impression on Colm in the last round when he needed a win for outright victory, and so settled on a draw and a runner’s up spot.  John Cormican finished thirteenth, which is a good result, ahead of his seeding: he played some lively and inventive games and we will try to put some of them up in the Games section.  A full crosstable can be found at, some games are available already on the Games section of the ICU web-site, and the rest should be up there eventually.

In the subsidary tournaments, Ruth Cormican put in an excellent performance in the PM tournament, winning second prize.  She also played in the AM (morning) tournament, but she seems not to be a morning person, as her score there was 2/5.  Also on two points were David Baird and John Hensey, whilst Paul Ward also scored 2 points in the under-2000 weekender tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte