January Blitz Results

The January Blitz was held (somewhat belatedly) on 6 February.  Perhaps fittingly, given our abuse of the calendar, the event was somewhat chaotic: few enough people were there half an hour after the scheduled start time to warrant conducting it as an all-play-all, then several others drifted in later and wanted to join in, resulting in a sort of hybrid with a Swiss, in which somehow not everybody played the same number of games.  The actual chess, however, was no more chaotic than usual, particularly that of our very clear winner, Galway Winter League champion Joona Kiiski, who played excellently to score 7 straight wins out of 7.  Second place went to Pete Morriss, with 6½ out of 8.  The (un)grading prize goes to a newcomer, Alex Drimbarean, with 3 points out of 6; and he was unlucky not to get more.  We hope that we will be seeing much more of him (and of all of you) in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte