January Blitz results

Our first blitz tournament of 2018, held on Thursday 25 January, saw some familiar names from 2017 collecting the prizes. The winner was Jason Rawlinson, who scored 6 points out of 7 (Jason lost only to Khai Asyraf, who was playing in his first Galway Blitz; but Jason demonstrated that he has learnt how to beat all the regulars by winning all his remaining games – so Khai needs to get his wins in before Jason rumbles how to beat him as well). Second, for now the fifth month in a row, was Pete Morriss on 5½ – he won in January and February 2017, but has obviously forgotten since then how to actually win these tournaments. The grading prize was won again by November’s winner, Andrejs Kozlovs; this is probably his last chance to get the coveted grading prize, as we expect his grade to soar after his next graded tournament in Bunratty next month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Galway Winter League, Round 1.

    Z. Nemeth K. Asyraf
    J. Rawlinson P. Ward
    D. Murphy M. O’Donnell
    P. Morriss D. Piercy
    A. Kozlovs Z. Drogic
    A. Barber J. Blackwell
    I. Danial K. Ryder
    B. Delee G. Abberton
    A. Zariq I. Finnerty

  • Upcoming Events

    (All 7.30pm starts in the Bridge Club unless otherwise specified)

    Tuesday 23rd: Casual Meeting in Massimo from 8pm
    Thursday 25th: October Blitz
    Thursday 1st November: Rapid League – Rounds 2,3,4
    Thursday 8th November: Winter League – Round 2
    Thursday 29th November: RL – Rounds 5,6,7
    Thursday 6th December: WL – Round 3
    Thursday 20th December: Christmas Blitz and Close
    Thursday 10th January: WL – Round 4 and Reopening
    Thursday 7th February: WL – Round 5
    Thursday 7th March: WL – Round 6
    Fri 22nd-Sun 24th March – Galway Congress
    Thursday 4th April: WL – Round 7

  • Recent Comments

  • Site Categories