Joona Kiiski is new Winter League Champion

The 2013 Winter League Champion is Joona Kiiski.  Joona tied for first with Pete Morriss, on 5½ points out of 7.  In the play-off match between the two, the first round of games, at a rate of 25 minutes each plus a 5 second increment, saw Pete win the first game (with white) and then Joona level the score by also winning with white.  In the second round – now at a time rate of 15 minutes plus 5 seconds – Joona won both games, and so won the title.  He is a very deserving champion, having gone through the tournament undefeated and played all the strongest players.

Third place was also decided on tie-break, though this time by the mechanical means of using the Median Buchholz measure.  Dara Murphy and Felix Calleja both scored 5/7, but Dara had met the higher-scoring opponents and so wins third prize.

The first grading prize (for those rated under 1600) was won by Ger Abberton, on 4 points.  The second grading prize (under 1200) also produced a tie which was resolved by a tie-break: here Marek Fijalkowski and Michael O’Connell had already scored 3 points, but were joined on that total by David Piercy, who won a tight ending in the last game to finish.  David and Marek were still tied on Median Buchholz, but David edged out Marek on the second tie-break method (Buchholz) and so won the grading prize.

Full standings are available on the right.

We will be putting up some pictures of the prize-winners, and hopefully some games, in the near future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte