Munster Chess Championship

Takes place from 18th to 20th September 2015 at the West County Hotel, Ennis, Co. Clare.  The title of “Munster Champion” will go to some one from that province.

There are two sections (a) The Munster Championship .. Apply to organisers to ensure you’re eligible and  (b) the Under 1500 Championship ,  is open to everyone below this rating.

All playing equipment will be provided.  And a leaflet with details and entry form is available here. 


  1. Carlos Silva says:

    Hey just pointing out the the Munster Open is actually open to all ICU members, I know it says on the munster website that it is just for players from Munster but the leaflet says its open for all ICU members and that only titles will be awarded to people from Munster I plan on going, hopefully see more of ye there!

    • Pete says:

      Hi Carlos,

      I’d advise checking with the organisers before you make any commitments, as I’ve been told that it isn’t open to those of us outside Munster (unless you were born there, that is). Good luck if you get to go.

      • Carlos Silva says:

        Hey Pete,
        I’m not sure about it anymore but I’m actually not going anymore as I’m going to be playing in the Leinster league with Ballinasloe on that weekend.

  2. Brendan says:

    Thanks for the post Carlos and good luck in the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte