November Blitz results

The November blitz, played on the 16th November, was won by Alex Drimbarean, with seven straight wins. Alex last played in one of our blitz tournaments nearly two years ago, when he also won, although then he did concede a draw or two; this time there was no stopping him, as he demonstrated (rather unfortunately) that a two-year gap is good for your chess – or at least for his: the rest of us need to practice. There was a tight fight for second place, with five players being in the running going into the last round; eventually Pete Morriss managed to come out in front of the pack, with 5 points, a long, long, way behind Alex. The grading prize went to Andrejs Kozlovs with 3½. This is Andrejs’ first grading prize, and it may well be his last, as he is likely not to be eligible for a grading prize if his ICU grading continues to increase at the rapid rate it has done over the last few months: for instance, Andrejs’ grading jumped 150 points after his fine win in Limerick last month

Next month’s blitz, our seasonal festive year-ender, is scheduled for December 14th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte