November Blitz results – and announcement for December Blitz

The November blitz tournament was won by Brendan Buckley, with the excellent score of 6½ out of 7 (conceding a draw to Pete and winning all his other games); second was Pete Morriss (who was beaten by Carlos, in addition to his draw with Brendan) on 5½; to continue the pattern, the grading prize was won by Carlos Silva, on 3½.

The December blitz will be held on Thursday 19 December, and there are rumours that mince-pies will be provided, and that there will be PRIZES!!  The normal format: 7.30 start; 7 rounds.  As always, both regulars and newcomers are very welcome.

The club will then be taking a short Christmas break, and will be back on 16 January for the next round of the Winter League.  We do wish all our readers a wonderful holiday, and look forward to seeing you next year – and for the blitz on 19 December.  Did I say that there will be mince pies and PRIZES??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte