Galway Rapidplay 2013

The Galway Rapidplay was won convincingly by Galway’s own Yury Rochev, with 8½ points out of 9.

Second was Philip Short, also of Galway, with 7. There was a tie for third place, on 6 points between Brendan Buckley (Galway), Karol Marzec (Poland) and Diana Mirza (Limerick).  Grading prizes were won by Andrew Barber (Galway) and Evan Doyle (Castlebar).  Perhaps it’s worth pointing out that, despite Galway’s dominance in the prizes, less than half the entrants were from Galway.

Yuri receiving 1st prize with a score of 8.5/9

Yuri receiving 1st prize with a score of 8.5/9

Philip came 2nd with a score of 7.0/9

Philip came 2nd with a score of 7.0/9

Below is the cross table of the event, and below that some pictures taken of the prize winners, and during play.

1Rochev, Yury23638.514:W6:W9:W7:W2:D4:W3:W5:W8:W
2Short, Philip2223718:W8:W3:D19:W1:D7:W4:L10:W9:W
3Buckley, Brendan 2082612:W5:W2:D9:W7:L11:W1:L8:D4:W
4Marzec, Karol1981616:D17:W6:D10:W5:W1:L2:W9:W3:L
5Mirza, Diana 1661615:W3:L18:W17:W4:L10:W14:W1:L7:W
7Short, Stephen 1959525:W23:W11:W1:L3:W2:L9:L18:W5:L
8Calleja, Felix 1682521:W2:L14:W13:L11:D16:W6:W3:D1:L
9Murphy, Oissine 1928520:W19:W1:L3:L17:W23:W7:W4:L2:L
10Divilly, Paddy 1437517:L13:W20:W4:L19:W5:L12:W2:L18:W
11Heinrich, Jan 1901513:D16:W7:L6:W8:D3:L19:L21:W17:W
12Barber, Andrew130953:L15:D13:L22:W21:D17:W10:L24:W19:W
13Kalinichenko, Anton4.511:D10:L12:W8:W23:L14:L15:W19:W6:L
14Monahan, Mark13744.51:L24:W8:L20:W18:D13:W5:L6:L26:W
15Durand, Côme4.55:L12:D16:D18:D6:L26:W13:L22:W24:W
16Fitzpatrick, Kevin12224.54:D11:L15:D21:D24:W8:L18:L26:W20:W
17Doyle, Evan410:W4:L23:W5:L9:L12:L22:W20:W11:L
18Hegarty, Fintan 131242:L21:W5:L15:D14:D22:W16:W7:L10:L
19Flannery, David1393422:W9:L25:W2:L10:L21:W11:W13:L12:L
20Bourke, John 116839:L22:W10:L14:L25:W6:L26:W17:L16:L
21Bazanov, Petr 38:L18:L26:W16:D12:D19:L24:W11:L22:L
22Mensa, Martynas 319:L20:L24:W12:L26:W18:L17:L15:L21:W
23Rawlinson, Jason 1631326:W7:L17:L25:W13:W9:L
24Fitzpatrick, Rebecca1.56:L14:L22:L26:W16:L25:D21:L12:L15:L
25Galvin, Billy7711.57:L26:W19:L23:L20:L24:D
26Blackwell, Edward023:L25:L21:L24:L22:L15:L20:L16:L14:L


Joint Third: Brendan Buckley, Diana Mirza, and Karol Marzec

Joint Third: Brendan Buckley, Diana Mirza, and Karol Marzec

Evan Doyle receiving his Grading Prize from Tournament Organizer, Pete Morriss

Evan Doyle receiving his Grading Prize
from Tournament Organizer, Pete Morriss


Four players deep in thought

Four players deep in thought

Finally, three anxious parents (and one younger sister) who waited patiently all day to see if their heroes could win a prize (and two out of the three did).

Finally, three anxious parents (and one younger sister) who waited patiently all day to see if their heroes could win a prize (and two out of the three did).



Saturday 29 June.



Galway  Bridge Centre, St Mary’s Road, Galway.


Rate of play

9 Rounds.

Each player will have 15 minutes for the game, plus an increment of 10 seconds per move from move 1.


1 Comment

  1. […] done to Yury Rochev who won the Galway FIDE rated rapidplay last weekend. Philip Short was second. Brendan Buckley, Karol Marzec and Diana Mirza finished 3rd […]

Leave a Reply to Rochev wins Galway rapidplay | Ennis Chess Club Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Upcoming Events for Galway Chess Club

    Casual meetings every Tuesday in Monroe’s Tavern from 8pm, and the calendar for official club events (which take place every Thursday upstairs in the Bridge Club on St. Mary’s Road) is detailed below:

    12th – Winter League Rd 6 – 19:30
    19th – Rapid – 20:00
    20th-22nd Galway Chess Congress (Menlo Park Hotel) – CANCELLED
    26th – Coaching – 20:00

    2nd – Blitz – 19:45

    Rest of April TBD


    Galway Congress Entrants:


    Name Rating
    GM Boris Chatalbashev 2531
    GM Alexander Baburin 2382
    FM Tarun Kanyamarala 2275
    FM Robin Moss 2269
    WFM Trisha Kanyamarala 2197
    Muhtarim-ul Haque 2123
    James Naughton 1929
    Peter Cafolla 1909
    Diego Pereiro Rodriguez 1883
    Denis Ruchko 1866
    Sean McLoughlin 1861
    Thomas Dunne junior 1850
    Leon Putar 1849
    Lara Putar 1792


    Name Rating
    Jana Solomatina 1574
    Eric Wang 1571
    Joseph A. McDonnell 1569
    Jarek Wieczorek 1552
    Denis O’Connell 1497
    Andrejs Kozlovs 1486
    Edgars Kirulis 1458
    Joe O’Hanlon 1457
    Barry Foran 1454
    Ciaran O’Reilly 1453
    Atharva Paibir 1429
    Andrew Finnerty 1369
    Gerard Abberton 1354
    Arman Arshakyan 1342
    John P Dunne 1334
    Erick McPherson 1330
    Niall Whelan 1266
    Shay Scott 1250
    Akshay Ranade 1176


    Name Rating
    Ross Du Berry 1094
    Bill Delee 1043
    Wenle Liu 1032
    Andy Wagner 1014
    Alan Lane 1007
    David Cunningham 976
    John Bourke 946
    Emmet Power 918
    Ian Finnerty 898
    Fergal Gallagher 877
    Zoran Dragic 863
    Scott Reilly 798
    Ajay Paibir 787
    Josh Donnellon 780
    Yuliya Makarenko 772
    Oscar Roe 764
    Szymon Wegzyrn 758
    Maureen Gallagher 757
    Markus Senzel 746
    Ayrton Woulfe 745
    Ciaran O’Driscoll 696
    Sean Gannon 684
    Martin Pinkasevich 684
    Oisin Mahon 659
    Shane Loughlin 643
    Jack Nolan 637
    Luke Scarry 576
    Olegs Solomatins 564
    Eoghan Cooke 551
    Robert Nielsen 517
    Richard Casserly 477
    Paddy Connolly 469
    Odhran O’Driscoll 460
    Theodor Schirliu 395
    Mac Dara Mannion 378
    Yang Liu 368
    Eli-John Kiernan 313
    Anna Carroll
    Eimear Cunningham
    Donnchadh Duane
    Ben Fegan
    Ronan Zaletel

  • Club Competitions

    Galway Winter League standings:

    Name Rating Points
    Denis Ruchko 1989 4.5
    David Andreu 1800 4.5
    Johannes Hertel 1989 4
    James Blackwell 1079 3.5
    Eamonn Abberton 1482 3.5
    Jason Rawlinson 1683 3
    Michael O’Donnell 1654 3
    Diego Rodriguez 1880 3
    Andrew Barber 1395 3
    David Cunningham 898 3
    Gerard Abberton 1354 2
    Bill Delee 1043 2
    Pete Donlon 844 2
    Niko Istuk 1600 2
    Pete Morriss 1821 2
    Andrew Finnerty 1292 2
    Oisin Hodgins 800 2
    Andrejz Kozlovs 1559 2
    Paul Ward 1466 2
    Conor Monaghan Browne 500 1
    Scott Reilly 798 1
    Yaron Bachrach 1400 0

    Monthly blitz winners:

    Month Winner Grading Prize
    December Michael O’Donnell Eoghan Collins
    November Brian Gallagher Ger Abberton
    “Halloween” Jason Rawlinson/Johannes Hertel Hamza Celik
    October Jason Rawlinson Brian Gallagher
    September Pete Morriss James Sharkey
    August Zalan Nemeth Paul Ward
    July Jason Rawlinson David Cunningham
    June Denis Ruchko Ger Abberton
    May Pete Morriss Andrew Finnerty
    April Zalan Nemeth
    March Zalan Nemeth Andrew Finnerty
    February Pete Morriss Yuliya Makarenko/ Shane Murray
    January Zalan Nemeth Brendan McNelis