Schedule for rest of season

Please note that the club will be closed on 17 and 24 March in view of the public holidays at that time of year.

On 31 March there will be a Q&A session on the Galway Congress, with the Congress organizers, starting at 7.30.  This is designed mainly for anybody who has never played in an over-the-board chess tournament before, and is considering whether to play in this one but is not quite sure what would be involved.  For that reason, it will be open to anyone who might play in the Congress, irrespective of whether you are a club member or not.

This will be followed by our March Blitz tournament, starting at 8 or immediately after the end of the Q&A session should that be later.  Anybody who attends the Q&A session is welcome to play in the blitz tournament, should they wish.

The club will be open on 7 April from 7.30.  As yet no particular event has been arranged, but we are hoping to put on a coaching session to put everybody in the right frame of mind for the Congress.

Then the Galway Congress takes place from Friday 8 April to Sunday 10 April, in the Menlo Park Hotel.  Full information about the Congress is available at this link; or you can go direct to the on-line entry facility here.  This is a national (indeed, international) event, with players coming from all over Ireland and from abroad: in the past few years players have come from Latvia, the USA, and even Australia.

On the Thursday after the Congress, 14 April, there will be a feedback session on the games you played in the Congress: bring along the scores of the games you played and get feedback from our resident experts.  You can either impress us all with the brilliance of your wins, or bring along games you lost but you are not sure where you went wrong and we will try to give advice.  Please make sure to bring along a record of the moves played, as even grandmasters cannot always remember the exact moves of their games.  This session is open to everybody who played in the Congress (whether or not a club member), and, of course, club members who somehow didn’t play in the Congress.

Then, on 21 April, there is the final round of the club’s Winter League (this is one week later than previously announced).  Entries to this tournament are now closed, but spectators are welcome (if they are quiet); there may also be others there to play friendly games with, but that cannot be guaranteed.

On 28 April there will be our monthly blitz tournament.

The 5 May has been reserved for a play-off in the Winter-league, should there be a tie for first place after round 7.  (Keep an eye on this web-site after 21 April!)  Spectators are welcome, and there will be an opportunity for playing (quiet) friendly games if there is a play-off – and noisy ones if there is not!

The final event of the season will be the club’s Annual General Meeting on 12 May.  This is for paid-up club members only.

After 12 May we will not be meeting in the Bridge Centre until September, but hope to meet informally in some suitable hostelry over the summer.

There will also be our annual FIDE-rated rapidplay tournament on a Saturday in June: date to be announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Upcoming Events for Galway Chess Club

    Casual meetings every Tuesday in Monroe’s Tavern from 8pm, and the calendar for official club events (which take place every Thursday upstairs in the Bridge Club on St. Mary’s Road) is detailed below:

    12th – Winter League Rd 6 – 19:30
    19th – Rapid – 20:00
    20th-22nd Galway Chess Congress (Menlo Park Hotel) – CANCELLED
    26th – Coaching – 20:00

    2nd – Blitz – 19:45

    Rest of April TBD


    Galway Congress Entrants:


    Name Rating
    GM Boris Chatalbashev 2531
    GM Alexander Baburin 2382
    FM Tarun Kanyamarala 2275
    FM Robin Moss 2269
    WFM Trisha Kanyamarala 2197
    Muhtarim-ul Haque 2123
    James Naughton 1929
    Peter Cafolla 1909
    Diego Pereiro Rodriguez 1883
    Denis Ruchko 1866
    Sean McLoughlin 1861
    Thomas Dunne junior 1850
    Leon Putar 1849
    Lara Putar 1792


    Name Rating
    Jana Solomatina 1574
    Eric Wang 1571
    Joseph A. McDonnell 1569
    Jarek Wieczorek 1552
    Denis O’Connell 1497
    Andrejs Kozlovs 1486
    Edgars Kirulis 1458
    Joe O’Hanlon 1457
    Barry Foran 1454
    Ciaran O’Reilly 1453
    Atharva Paibir 1429
    Andrew Finnerty 1369
    Gerard Abberton 1354
    Arman Arshakyan 1342
    John P Dunne 1334
    Erick McPherson 1330
    Niall Whelan 1266
    Shay Scott 1250
    Akshay Ranade 1176


    Name Rating
    Ross Du Berry 1094
    Bill Delee 1043
    Wenle Liu 1032
    Andy Wagner 1014
    Alan Lane 1007
    David Cunningham 976
    John Bourke 946
    Emmet Power 918
    Ian Finnerty 898
    Fergal Gallagher 877
    Zoran Dragic 863
    Scott Reilly 798
    Ajay Paibir 787
    Josh Donnellon 780
    Yuliya Makarenko 772
    Oscar Roe 764
    Szymon Wegzyrn 758
    Maureen Gallagher 757
    Markus Senzel 746
    Ayrton Woulfe 745
    Ciaran O’Driscoll 696
    Sean Gannon 684
    Martin Pinkasevich 684
    Oisin Mahon 659
    Shane Loughlin 643
    Jack Nolan 637
    Luke Scarry 576
    Olegs Solomatins 564
    Eoghan Cooke 551
    Robert Nielsen 517
    Richard Casserly 477
    Paddy Connolly 469
    Odhran O’Driscoll 460
    Theodor Schirliu 395
    Mac Dara Mannion 378
    Yang Liu 368
    Eli-John Kiernan 313
    Anna Carroll
    Eimear Cunningham
    Donnchadh Duane
    Ben Fegan
    Ronan Zaletel

  • Club Competitions

    Galway Winter League standings:

    Name Rating Points
    Denis Ruchko 1989 4.5
    David Andreu 1800 4.5
    Johannes Hertel 1989 4
    James Blackwell 1079 3.5
    Eamonn Abberton 1482 3.5
    Jason Rawlinson 1683 3
    Michael O’Donnell 1654 3
    Diego Rodriguez 1880 3
    Andrew Barber 1395 3
    David Cunningham 898 3
    Gerard Abberton 1354 2
    Bill Delee 1043 2
    Pete Donlon 844 2
    Niko Istuk 1600 2
    Pete Morriss 1821 2
    Andrew Finnerty 1292 2
    Oisin Hodgins 800 2
    Andrejz Kozlovs 1559 2
    Paul Ward 1466 2
    Conor Monaghan Browne 500 1
    Scott Reilly 798 1
    Yaron Bachrach 1400 0

    Monthly blitz winners:

    Month Winner Grading Prize
    December Michael O’Donnell Eoghan Collins
    November Brian Gallagher Ger Abberton
    “Halloween” Jason Rawlinson/Johannes Hertel Hamza Celik
    October Jason Rawlinson Brian Gallagher
    September Pete Morriss James Sharkey
    August Zalan Nemeth Paul Ward
    July Jason Rawlinson David Cunningham
    June Denis Ruchko Ger Abberton
    May Pete Morriss Andrew Finnerty
    April Zalan Nemeth
    March Zalan Nemeth Andrew Finnerty
    February Pete Morriss Yuliya Makarenko/ Shane Murray
    January Zalan Nemeth Brendan McNelis