September Blitz Results

Our September blitz tournament took place on 17 September.  There was a good turnout, and about half of those playing were new to the club, which was very good to see.  The joint winners, on 6 points out of 7 (both undefeated), were new member Michiel Jacobs and familiar face Oissine Murphy, returning to the club after a couple of years coping with the rigours of the Leaving Cert.  (Actually, Oissine’s face was not that familiar, as it now has a beard on it, which it didn’t have when last seen, aged 15.)  Both Michiel and Oissine are students at NUI Galway, so the university would seem to have the nucleus of a thriving chess club.  The Grading Prize, retitled for the night the Prize for the Highest-Placed Newcomer Who Did not Win Another Prize, was won by Sid Hegde, with an impressive 4 points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte