Summer Chess in Galway

We will be meeting in the Cottage Bar, Lower Salthill, on Thursday evenings from 8.30 until September.  The pub will give us our own room if one is available; otherwise we will meet in the main bar. This will of course be entirely informal.

If you haven’t been to the club before, then you are most welcome; all you have to do is turn up sometime between 8.30 and closing time, introduce yourself to someone who is playing chess, and we will find an opponent for you.

Further information about the Cottage Bar, and a map, can be found at:  (The information is a bit out of date – for instance, the outside is now bright blue – but the map is still accurate!).  This pub serves some of the best beer in Galway, from the Oslo micro-brewery; it also does food great tapas food.

We cannot keep chess equipment there, so please bring a set and clock, if you have them.  (If you don’t have them, then you are welcome to turn up anyway: obviously, only half the people need bring a set for everybody to be happy.)

The Cottage is a popular bar so if we have to change venue (due to lack of space) I will post an update here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte