The Galway Congress is only 2 weeks away!

Our big weekend for 2012 is nearly upon us (Oct 12-14) so its time to get your entries into us. Some notable entries received so far include:

  • Denis Rombaldini IM (ITA)
  • Alex Baburin GM
  • Alex Lopez IM
  • John Donaldson IM (US)
  • David Fitzsimons
  • Valentine Kalinins
  • Charles McAleenan (SCO)
  • Sabrina Reginato (ITA)


The web page for the Congress has all the information:  Galway Chess Congress 2012

To avail of reduced rates (see Congress main page for rates) fill out an entry form and send it to us along with the entry fee.

MS Word document Entry Form: GCC 2012 Entry Form Document

Web Entry Form (for printing only): GCC 2012 Entry Form Web Page




  1. Pete Morriss says:

    Another GM has just entered: Vlad-Cristian Jianu, from Romania: that’s 2 GMs and 3 IMs so far. We’ve also had so many entries from overseas (including from Australia) that we are thinking of renaming the tournament the Galway International. Irish entries are very welcome too, of course.

    We’ll update the list of entries in the next few days.

    Pete Morriss (for the Organizing Committee)

  2. Pete Morriss says:

    Congress Changes

    There has been a minor change in the Congress timetable. In response to a request from a Dubliner, we have brought forward the start of the last round to 2.15 on Sunday, to make it less of a rush for anybody who wants to catch the last train towards Dublin, which leaves at 6.05. (Why is it so early? The last train from Dublin to Galway is a more reasonable 8.30.)
    If you are catching the Dublin train, do let one of the organizers know before the start of the last round, and we will try to arrange a lift to the station from one of our local team if your game finishes late.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte