Winter League 2011/12 Final Result

The winter league came to a conclusion a couple of weeks ago. The winner was Pete Morriss with a score of 6/7. Congratulations Pete on your second winter league title!

Second was Felix Calleja who was the main challenger to Pete for the last few rounds.

A notable mention should be made for Joona Kiiska who joined the competition after the first 3 rounds and managed to score 4/4.

1Morriss, Pete18886/718.026.521.0
2Calleja, Felix15115.5/720.029.023.5
3-4Path, David19664.5/721.030.020.5
3-4McCann, David15814.5/716.523.518.5
5-7Ward, Paul15954/719.527.017.0
5-7Abberton, Ger12004/718.025.015.0
5-7Kiiski, Joona19004/414.020.010.0
8-9Abberton, Eamonn14103.5/719.525.515.0
8-9Baird, David15723.5/719.027.016.0
10-12Cunningham, Amos10003/715.522.012.0
10-12Golz, Adam13753/714.020.514.0
10-12Piercy, David9413/714.020.510.5
13Korir, Paul8002.5/715.020.07.0
14O Connell, Michael12002/717.023.59.0
15-16Byrne, Andrew8001.5/714.019.01.0
15-16Pop, Melinda15001.5/712.517.02.0



The next league will begin in September (I’ll post details closer to the time).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte