Winter League 2014-15: Final Results

Whilst the first place in the Winter League was already decided before the last round took place, the other prize winners still had to be determined.  Some hard-fought games (it is rare for a tournament to have no draws at all in the final round) produced the following outcome.  First was Gerardo Artola Pola.  Second, on tie-break, was Pete Morriss, just ahead of Jason Rawlinson, who has the honour of being the only player to go through the tournament undefeated.  The Grading Prize was won by Carlos Silva, for the second year in a row.  Congratulations to all the prize-winners, particularly the clear winner Gerardo.


Gerardo Artola Pola1526
Pete Morriss18795
Jason Rawlinson15755
Padraic O'Tuathail1955
David Baird1559
Carlos da Silva14854
Anton Kalinichenko4
Paul Ward15034
Eduardo Gandara1843
Aogan O'Hiarlaithe
Andrew Barber13423
Michael O'Donnell15823
John Hensey13363
David Piercy941
Vinny O'Donnell13732
Richard Martin1 withdrawn
Henryk Raczkowiak0 withdrawn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte