Winter League ends in Tie again

A tense and hard-fought final round saw two of the five leaders – Joona Kiiski and Conall Hegarty – win their games and finish in a tie for first place on 5½ points out of 7.  Who the overall winner will be, and where the Winter League Cup will live for the next 12 months, will be decided in a play-off on Thursday 24 April.

Henryk Raczkowiak and Carlos Silva drew their game with each other, and thereby shared third place on 5 points.  Carlos was also eligible for the grading prize, so he received that and Henryk won the (equally valuable) third prize.  Not only did Carlos win the grading prize, but he was the only player undefeated in the whole tournament.

So we still have to wait another two weeks before knowing the identity of the Winter League Champion for 2013-14: will it be the holder, Joona, or the new challenger, Conall?  Come along on Thursday 24th to find out!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Galway Chess Club Schedule

  • October 13th Blitz

  • October 20th Rapid

  • October 27th Winter League Round 2

  • November 3rd Blitz

  • November 10th Rapid

  • November 17th Winter League Round 3

  • November 24th Blitz

  • December 1st Rapid

  • December 8th Winter League Round 4

  • December 15th Christmas Blitz

  • Sign up for our mailing list:

    * indicates required

  • Galway Winter League standings

    Alex Drimbarean
    Andrew Barber
    Barry Breen
    Brian Gallagher
    Bryn Edwards
    Dara Jennings
    David O'Connell
    Diego Pereiro
    Donal O'Donnell
    Eoin Galvin
    Gourang Jiddewar
    Jack Hannas
    James Blackwell
    Jason Rawlinson
    John Farrell
    Karolina Bronnikova
    Maureen Gallagher
    Michael Corless
    Moe Alsaleh
    Oscar Roe
    Paul Ward
    Pete Morriss
    Proinsias Hernon
    Rhys O'Halloran
    Robert Frost
    Ross du Berry
    Scott Reilly
    Shane Whyte