February Blitz result

The February blitz was won by Alex Drimbarean on 4½/6.  Second equal were Conall Hegarty and Pete Morriss on 4.  The grading prize went to Denis Ruschko with 2 points.  The evening was characterized by a number of the stronger players losing completely won endgames, often by overlooking mates in one – to the great amusement of the spectators.  It remains a chess mystery why it is so much easier to see simple tactics when watching someone else’s game than when playing one’s own.  If anybody can solve that mystery, please post here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Rapidplay 2022: Entrants

    Andrew Barber
    Max Cook
    ​Benjamin Gacquin
    Paul Gaffney
    Eoin Galvin
    Conor Haran
    James Lee
    Vladimir Mabhena
    Alexey Marchenko
    Roy Marshall
    Gerard McLoughlin
    Patrick Murphy
    Timothy O'Malley
    Rory Regan
    Vinayak Verlekar
    Vivaan Verlekar