Gerardo wins Winter League

Gerardo Artola Pola clinched victory in the 2014-15 Galway Winter League by drawing with Jason Rawlinson, in a hard fought game.  That puts him 1½ points ahead of the field, with one round to go.  This is the first time that the Winter League has been won with a round to spare since it was reduced to 7 rounds ten years ago.  Last year at this time it was very close, with five tied for first place before the final round, and a play-off eventually needed to determine the winner; this year Gerardo has run away with the tournament in fine style.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Rapidplay 2022: Entrants

    Andrew Barber
    Max Cook
    ​Benjamin Gacquin
    Paul Gaffney
    Eoin Galvin
    Conor Haran
    James Lee
    Vladimir Mabhena
    Gerard McLoughlin
    Patrick Murphy
    Timothy O'Malley
    Vinayak Verlekar
    Vivaan Verlekar