Winter League the closest for years

The Winter League saw major upsets last night, when the top three seeds all lost.  Now there are four players tied on first place with just two rounds to go: Joona Kiiski (the defending champion and previous leader), Conall Hegarty (who beat Joona), Carlos Silva (who beat Conall in the first round, and is the only player unbeaten), and Henryk RaczkowiakFelix Calleja is just half a point behind the leaders, whilst the original second and third seeds follow behind him.  So an exciting finish on 13 March and 10 April is guaranteed, and there’s a high probability of the title being again decided in a play-off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Rapidplay 2022: Entrants

    Andrew Barber
    Max Cook
    ​Benjamin Gacquin
    Paul Gaffney
    Eoin Galvin
    Conor Haran
    James Lee
    Vladimir Mabhena
    Alexey Marchenko
    Roy Marshall
    Gerard McLoughlin
    Patrick Murphy
    Timothy O'Malley
    Rory Regan
    Vinayak Verlekar
    Vivaan Verlekar